The Peace Priority

Faith means having peace even when you don’t have all the answers.

What? No, I think as I read during my morning prayer time. No, faith means believing in the unseen. Hpmh.                    Wait, oh, ohhh that is kind of the same idea…                           I don’t have the answers, I can’t see the future, and that brings me back to needing to  “keep the faith” as this wise man tells us. Oh.

Place a high priority on keeping your peace today, despite whatever jams you get in.

Later in the passage, it tells me to prioritize. I like this.  I feel that I’m a pretty reactive person- something happens around me, I get affected by it. Emotions are good, but emotional reasoning is not the only way to live and think.

In talking with friends, we have been placing a high priority on happiness, happinenss in every moment. Given our transient, mid-twenties lives, and all the other things life presents us, this has been hard. Shockingly, constantly striving for happiness has not made us any happier! Rather, when we have a rough day, we question ourselves, our abilities, and our moods. This leads to questions like “If I can’t make myself happy, who can”, “Why can’t I be happy- I have a pretty good life”, or the lovely “If I just had this job/relationship/living situation/etc, I’d be able to be happy”.

Maybe, if we reset our priority to be peace, life would be a bit better. We could cut ourselves some slack and realize that not every day is going to be a happy one, nor every situation, relationship, or event. Maybe we’d just enjoy life a little bit more if we could strive for peace. Maybe, we’d even find a bit more happiness in striving to live this way.

So, I leave you with one my favorite quotes on the subject.

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart”.

I’m resetting my autopilot to that idea. Peace, y’all!

2 responses

  1. YES! I don’t even know what to say to this – happiness IS peace and peace IS finding the happiness despite the hard, tough things that can happen in our lives. I heart you. Let’s be friends.

What do YOU think?

