St-Resssssssed.

Life gets hectic. Life gets crazy. Right now, for me, it’s both in rare forms! I thought I had it at bay for a bit, but my mind and body had other ideas!

In an effort to relax and push off the intense nervous energy, I made myself go on a walk. Just starting out, I looked up and smiled at a stranger. He smiled back then asked me if I knew where a certain street was. I struggled. I recognized the name, but didn’t know exactly where it was. He asked if I knew a separate street, then said “I just need some meds from the Salvation Army” Ding! Got it, after I directed him he said “God bless you, you’re lovely. Thank you, sweetheart”.

I felt good. Here I was in my crazed, stressfilled day, needing to do something (aka a walk) for me, and I helped some one out. What a great gift to feel purposeful amidst the chaos!

As I continued on, I was thinking about loosing direction and my friend’s recent conversation about our lives popped into my head.  We had been chatting about struggles, and how I sometimes, I feel like I’m losing who I once was in this strange stage of life I’m in. I question, I doubt, I don’t always know what is up or down, left or right. Then, this belief articulated itself “We are NOT losing ourselves in this crazy post collegiate/post service/20 somethings stage. We are becoming more fully rooted in being ourselves.”

And today, that’s what’s giving me direction. Although these two pieces may not seem related, they are integral. I want to know my wants and desires better, but I can’t do so without relating to others. I can’t be so in my own head, worrying about my life, that I deny what others need and want. Hopefully, I can find my place in this world that is in tandem with serving others.

One response

  1. Good luck in striking the balance. And nice work on taking insight from the interaction with the stranger. You acknowledge what is refreshing, and are therefore refreshed! (At least a little. 🙂 )

What do YOU think?

