Gr-attitude

 

I’ve been doing some positive psychology reading lately. I was first introduced to this (or at least the 1st time I remember) back in August of 2008, when I was part of a week long conference called Leaders in Transition. What a nice way to say “motivated-people-who-have-no-idea-what’s-next” ;). But then again, who does?

Anyway, there I was introduced the VIA Survey of Character Strengths. Back then, my top strength was gratitude. It’s pretty easy when you’ve just spent one of the best years of your life, with great people and a cool job, and truly understanding how richly blessed your life is, to be grateful. At this conference, I learned that one of the best ways to improve your happiness is to express your gratitude. This is best done verbally, but even writing down the top 3 things you are grateful for each day makes a difference.

No wonder I love this quote I saw today!

“I wonder if gratefulness is the bridge from sorrow to joy, spanning the chasm of our anxious striving. Freed from the burden of unbridled desires, we can enjoy what we have, celebrate what we’ve attained, and appreciate the familiar. For if we can’t be happy now, we’ll likely not be happy when”.     -Philip Gulley Porch Talk


Today, I’m grateful for

1. A great hike with a great friend

2. Gorgeous fall foliage

3. Pumpkin Pie Shake Dates

 

So, be grateful to be happy!

3 responses

    • Hi RJ,

      Thanks for reading. I enjoyed your site! VIA is great- I’m glad I’ve been able to read more of Martin Seligman’s work in Authentic Happiness. You raise a very interesting thought. At first glance, I thought no, that my strengths are what I am good at, and my values are the elements that I hold as inherent truths .As I pondered more, I think I could agree, that our strengths are often the elements we value the most. That is quite helpful to me in thinking about how I interact with others!

      Another tool I have really enjoyed is the Disc Profile. That insight into different personalities was quite insightful

      Thanks for your thoughts,
      Kate

What do YOU think?

