Where you at?

I’m in happy town. It’s where I choose to be, as much as possible and as authentically as I can.

I heard two related, but differing sermons today. The first was to choose to be happy. We can do this everyday, choosing not to be a victim to our circumstances but a victor. Maybe we aren’t where we want to be in life, maybe we don’t have the job, house, car, kids, relationships, etc that we want, but it doesn’t mean that we cannot be happy today, as we strive for a different tomorrow. Choosing to be happy today, sows the seeds for a new and better tomorrow.

The second was a story about a man who lead a very fast life- lots of money, prestige, drugs, etc. He found faith and decided to become a priest (clearly, this is the cliff notes version). The moral here was that sometimes we need to hit rock bottom to find our path to true happiness. Sometimes we have to travel down the road we think will give us that, finding that it is empty, in order for us to change to the right direction.

I like both. I think both are true. We can learn to enjoy the little moments of life, being happy wherever we are, as to not waste our life away. Yet, this cannot happen all of the time, nor in times of true despair. We cannot deny ourselves our real emotions, even if they are ‘negative’. We must realize that the dark times in our lives might be speaking to us, might be the catalyst that we need for change. We just might need to hit that rock bottom, in order for things to truly change.

So, today, I stand firm in recognizing my challenges this year. I know that they had purpose, and drew me closer in my faith to God and strengthened my relationships. I did not ‘fail’ because I could not be happy every day. Rather, I let myself find peace in the chaos, and renewed faith in my darkest of days.

Today, I’ll be proud of what I’ve been through and how I allowed it to change me, grateful to God for being with me and thankful to friends and family for helping me through. Today, I’ll find peace and happiness in the small pieces of my day, even if I’m not 100% where I want to be in my life. Today is a gift that I’m able to take hold of.

Happiness, here I am. I’m here to stay.

 

To be alive in this beautiful, self-organizing universe — to participate in the dance of life with senses to perceive it, lungs that breathe it, organs that draw nourishment from it — is a wonder beyond words.

Joanna Macy

What do YOU think?

