Imperfect? Check!

I like things done right, done well. Some have even suggested that I like perfect. I know nothing is, but there are days where I forget this. I may have one day gotten annoyed that my bread got re-toasted by accident by another housemember, and said “UGH! That was PERFECT toast”. Hmm, they should sell that in stores, perfect toast…yes, not my best moment.

Anyway, that’s why I was a bit perturbed by the sermon that I heard today.The Gospel was Matthew 5:38-48 with the last line being ” You, therefore, must be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect”. Our priest spoke of how important it is to strive to be better. Ok, I’m on board. But then he ended with, “don’t be satistifed until your perfect is perfect”. My faith tradition teaches that we aren’t perfect in this world, we will be when we are in heaven with God. I don’t believe this means that we shouldn’t try to be the best versions of ourselves, but I do believe that this means will cannot attain perfection, or a God-like state, here.

I believe this, but in my day to day life, I struggle. Of course I want things to be good, perfect, and right. My days would be so much easier, flawless, and enjoyable, or so I think. But my imperfections allow me to receive grace from God and others in my lives. It allows me to connect to others, and it allows me to have something to strive for. My imperfections also make me uniquely me.

Having struggled to put these beliefs into practice, I truly appreciated the quote I received in my inbox today ,”Have patience with all things, but chiefly have patience with yourself. Do not lose courage in considering your own imperfections but instantly set about remedying them – every day begin the task anew”. Saint Francis de Sales

Am I imperfect? Yes, and it teaches me the most wonderful things.

What do YOU think?

