Wise (yet worrisome) tea

An afternoon tea is a welcomed break in my day, giving me a boost and sometimes caffeine. It was even more welcomed when my sick interns came in today (hellooooo, antioxidants!)

Anyway, I love the little fortunes on my tea. Today’s was ” be kind and compassionate and the whole world will be your friend”. I immediately thought, “yes, I already do this”. Then I realized, this is actually not my virtue, but my vice. I people please. It’s in my nature. I HATE not being liked by someone, treated meanly, or making a mistake.

But where will this get me in life? I’m afraid it will limit my needed risk taking, and make me more concerned about the thoughts of others vs. the thoughts of self. Neither of this things do I wish to be.

Then, I reread the tea-ism and thought, “hmm, maybe this has more to do with being kind and compassionate, not just nice and walked all over”. Can’t I try to be both compassionate AND just, by standing up for what I believe?

I’m not sure, but I’m sure as heck going to try!

What do YOU think?

