Ride the Tide

This week I was able to spend a few days at a lake house. After taking a late afternoon swim, I sat on the dock to relax. As I lay down, I realized, my worries had found me. Sighing, I decided to just cave in and let them wash over me.

But it was difficult to focus on them. The dock was moving strongly. I felt every movement, every jarring vibration of metal scrapping up against wood. Lying still and trying to find some calm, either in my mind or through my body, seemed impossible. And yet, I could also hear the waves rolling on, the birds still singing, and see the clouds moving through. The world around moves smoothly on, despite my rocky ride!

And so is life. I cannot command the undertow of life to calm down, but I can enjoy the ride, even rocky. I can appreciate this moment, not just wait for the tide to bring in the next one. Lying on the dock, smiling to myself, I felt the warmth of the sun and saw the steady shoreline in the distance. In that moment, I decided that if I can appreciate the beauty around me, despite what’s going on beneath the surface, I have triumphed.

“Peace. It does not mean to be in a place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.”

One response

  1. Pingback: Rumi and Matthew meet | Say Yes! Change Things.

What do YOU think?

