Rain brings my parade

Yesterday, the skies opened and showered six inches of rain upon us! And yet, I had a fantastic day.

I’ve mentioned that I’m (ridiculously) attached/affected by weather. Recently, I’ve noticed that my Mom is too, so I think there are hereditary connections! However, I truly gained an appreciation of the connection of mood and environment when I lived in Syracuse, the Seattle of East.

From November to April, I cannot recall a sunny day. Day in and day out, the weather was bleak, blustery, and cold. The world was gray. Working at a medical clinic, I saw many patients who experienced Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD). Bleakness was all around.

In the three years since living in Syracuse, I’ve been able to hone in on my love of sun, and frustration of gray days. Why was yesterday so great, regardless of the weather? Because I loved it- I allowed myself to love the rain, accept that it was just one day. I didn’t check the forecast to see if this weather would last, rather I sat in(side) the moment, and said thanks for the needed preciptiation!

Of course I won’t always have this enlightened viewpoint. I’m the first person in my house to get cabin fever in the winter- I’ll take hikes in feet of snow just to get some fresh air. But, I’ll be patient with myself and learn whatever I can from my reactions to my environment.

What is a nuisance that you might be able to sit with today and find some gratitude for?

“Smile, breathe and go slowly.”Thich Nhat Hanh

What do YOU think?

