Food from the Soul

Could this be real? My rocker crush will now also be my foodie hero? The answer is YES!

I have loved Jon Bon Jovi  for his amazing live performances and anthem-style rock ballads. In the past few years, I have followed his work in nearby Camden and Newark with his foundation where they provide housing for those without homes. The Jon Bon Jovi Soul Foundation, based in Philadelphia, states that its’ mission is “to combat issues that force families and individuals into economic despair”.

When I saw that a friend had sent me this link, I was floored. This is the kind of work that inspires me, that warms my heart, and makes me want to run to be a part of it. Through introducing a ‘community style’ restaurant, Jon and his crew have worked to lower the divisions of economic status, create opportunities to share a meal, as well as provide the ability for everyone to give to this cause, be it monetarily or through volunteering.

This is not a soup kitchen or a food pantry, nor is it a fast food joint or a swanky 5 star restaurant. Rather, it’s a homey place where everyone is welcome, where everyone brings their talents and treasures to the table. This is the Soul Kitchen.

One response

What do YOU think?

