How to Be Alone: Hiking

“Doubly happy, however, is the man to whom lofty mountain tops are within reach.” John Muir

A gift, Muir suggests. One I am lucky to have and celebrate often. Alone.

Here, I find my solace. My spirit. My serenity. The outdoors are my sanctuary. It doesn’t matter if I’m in the Poconos, the Ramapo Hills or someplace as majestic as the Canadian Rockies- if I am outdoors in beauty, I see peace.

A recent fall hike at Surprise Lake

Why? Because it takes me away from myself. Amongst the towering oaks and scurrying squirrels, the message is clear: this world is so much more than me.

When engrossed with my own life, I crave being amidst nature’s bounty. Whatever season, whatever the weather, I am pulled. Perhaps because of the quiet a solitary hike brings. One where the loudest sound is often my own heart beat. And when I allow my world to meet a breathtaking scene from the world, I can hear the truest me, hear the smallest whisper of Him, and know this moment is peace.

 
*As for safety, take a few things into consideration- knowing the area, being familiar with trails ahead of time, having a cell phone on you and other essentials ( right gear, water, a snack etc). Consider letting someone else know where you will be. I don’t say this to damper any spontaneity, rather to remind you of some simple safety tactics to make hiking alone more feasible.*
6 responses

  1. OMG! That is exactly how I feel when I walk on the beach!! You are so alone and at peace! You also realize that God created this wonderful world for you!

  2. Pingback: How to Be Alone: Let Yourself Be | Say Yes! Change Things.

  3. Pingback: How to Be Alone: Dance | Say Yes! Change Things.

What do YOU think?

