How to Be Alone: Dance

Last weekend, I attended a family wedding. Stag.

Days before, I was second guessing this decision, although I had made it with no concerns. A good friend said to me, “Make friends and just dance!” I assured her I had no plans of hitting the dance floor by myself, especially since I didn’t know others my age attending, thank you very much.

Fast forward to Friday night. I stepped onto the dance floor hoping to quickly reach solace across the room with the others I knew. Well, I couldn’t very well just walk through a crowd of dancing people, now could I? So I joined them. Then spotting my parents, we joined forces to tackle….The Twist. And the Grapevine. And “What a Wonderful World“. It was ages before we sat down, since we didn’t want to end the best part of the night.

*********

How is this my advice in being alone? Be true to yourself. I love to dance. But I went into this experience saying no, I will not stand out alone on the floor.  Step out, take a risk, and enjoy it. Throw caution to the wind, and while you are at it, throw your hands into the air. I did. And every morsel of body thanked me for it.

If you need further motivation, or a deeper thesis on why to dance, watch this speech. Ellen‘s summary’s:”You’re gonna be ok….just dance”!

And just to ensure that this all occurs in your life, I will borrow some wise foreshadowing from my friend Petro:

“Girl.  Your life is a dance.  DAZZLE THEM!”

Now, go put on your radio, no need to pull down the shades…just dance!

*********

Check out the previous HTBA posts:

3 responses

  1. Pingback: How to Be Alone: Trust (Guest Post) | Say Yes! Change Things.

What do YOU think?

