Rain down

Rain down, rain down, rain down your love on your people.

I love this hymn. And yet, I’ve never caught it’s lyrical strength before. In the entire song, there is no call for happiness. There is no call for sunny days, moments without any clouds in the sky. Instead, the composer equates love and rain, something we so often see as dark, negative, or a nuisance. And yet, it as just as integral to life as the brightest of days.

Grant that your love and your peace touch our hearts,
all of our hope lies in you.

Sitting down at the end of a long week, a storm came. Not  just the run of the mill rain, it was a downpour. Drenching, lasting, intense. Gusts so powerful every beam creaked. Maybe that cacophony struck a few chords of this song, but regardless, it popped into my head. Letting it play over and over again, I recognize it’s important message of trust.

Has this been the easiest of weeks? No. Have I found myself frustrated, sad, angry, disappointed at situations not in my power to change? Yes.

Then the rain came. Just when I needed true rejuvenation, the presence of this storm and it’s anthem made me smile. For moments that seemed endless, love, divine and desperately needed, rained down.

Rain down, rain down,
rain down your love, God of life.

Wishing you peace, love, and trust during your storms,

~A gal who is striving to say yes.

5 responses

  1. Hey Kate! I sang this at church two weeks ago, and it was so uplifting! It’s true the storms are rough but bring about great change and blessings. Beautiful

What do YOU think?

