Kate’s Faux Quiche

Quiche has a special place in my heart. Sure, it also goes happily into my belly, but this is a food that nourishes me deeper than just nutritionally. It reconnects me to my aunt.

My Aunt Dee had multiple sclerosis (MS). Diagnosed before I was born, I only was able to spend twelve years with her. Luckily, I have plenty of memories of curling up with her, showing off my new reading skills, or putting on a show when she came to visit. Although I was just a child, I cannot recalling her uttering one complaint. My image of her is this stoic, loving and faith filled woman, who always asked my sister and I how we were doing; who immediately smiled the minute we walked into the room. Aunt Dee certainly made a mark on my life.

When we would go to visit her home in the later years, we’d always bring a quiche from the local bakery. It was healthy, filling, and one of my aunt’s favorites. Therefore, quiche will always connect me to this wonderful woman.

***

Years later when I was living in Syracuse, my house had been blessed with a bounty of zucchini. After the pancakes, the breads, the salad toppers, and more, we were in desperate need of a new way to add this food into good dishes. A co-worker of mine gave me a recipe similar to the one below. I’ve since doctored it a bit, and hope you enjoy. It’s one of my favorite comfort foods!

Got these guys for a great meal?

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 3 cups grated or thinly sliced zucchini/ squash
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 c. pancake mix
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 1/2 c. Parmesan grated cheese
  • 1 clove of garlic crushed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1-2 TBSP of fresh parsley, chopped
  • 1-2 TBSP of oregano or Italian Seasoning
  • Optional: Fresh basil, chopped
  • Optional: One clove of elephant garlic, crushed
  • Optional: broccoli florets, chopped kale, beet greens, tatsoi , mushrooms etc. (Great dish to add CSA veggies to, just beware not to add so much that the balance of the egg and mix is thrown off. I’d suggest no more than 3/4cup total of any of the optional pieces)
Combine all ingredients in large bowl.  Pour in greased casserole dish and bake at 350 degrees for approximately 30-35 minutes or until done in center.

Deliciousness, aka Faux Quiche

This course is so simple and versatile- I’ve eaten it for any meal. It also makes a quick brunch item!

If you do make this dish, consider taking a moment to think of an inspiring person and honor their mark in your life. 

Comfort food that doubles as ‘soul food’?  Now, that’s my kinda meal!

4 responses

What do YOU think?

