Vocation is…

My sister is, hands-down, one of my biggest inspirations. The gal is one of the kindest, most caring people you’ll ever meet. At the moment, she is going through a rough patch, but handling it with more grace than I could ever muster.

Recently, Sis said to me, ” Maybe I should do something like you do.  You help so many people!”

My first thought was thanks- I’m not sure but I certainly hope so. What I said in response to Sis was “HA thanks! But do what you enjoy. THAT is what matters the most”.

***

Then later in the week, I was speaking to another friend, who works in the same building. I had no idea she was such a creative, healing soul. She began to tell me how she worked for the United Way after 9/11, first volunteering then as a employee. Her role? To provide massages to the workers to help them relax and deal with the very difficult tasks they had at hand.

I would never have thought of this service. Allowing the caretakers a special space to relax, she certainly served a silent need of the post- 9/11 world, in her great way.

***

There is no one size fits all design to vocation. It’s individual. It’s unique. And yet universal, as it’s for more than just our personal being.

 Vocation is “the place where your deep gladness and the world’s deep hunger meet. – Frederick Buechner

And so it is with all, every single one of us.  The world needs us. 

 

Let us begin.

4 responses

  1. I love that vocation quote from Frederick Buechner. That theme/idea was really big in JVC. It helps me to remember that even when vocation may be “small” or behind the scenes — it’s still important. Really enjoying your blog!

What do YOU think?

