8 minutes to make the day

All it took was 8 minutes and 1 phone call. That’s all it ever is, and yet we laugh, we share our sorrows, and wish each other peace & blessings.

***

My friend Jay is a vivacious guy. We met a few years ago, when I was in my year of service. Jay was a client but also a volunteer at the food pantry and medical clinic. No stranger to hardship, Jay would be the first to tell you about his struggles: addictions, divorce, poverty. Yet the man I know today cannot stop smiling or laughing.

Jay and I chat every couple of weeks. Often, he gets my voicemail and says in his high pitched voice “Hi there Kate! I just wanted to hear your voice so that’s why I’m calling. Glad I got your voice mail! Just wanted to see how you are doing- ok bye-bye”.

Admittedly, I’m not the best at remembering to call Jay back. It may take a few days, or even a week. But this is a friendship that transcends so many of the cultural norms: age, gender, background, geography and more. He’ll always ask about my mom, what’s new in my life, and share some new wisdom. It’s a friendship I deeply cherish and hope to never be without.

***

All it took was 8 minutes and 1 phone call. That’s all it ever is. And it’s everything that makes my day.

One response

What do YOU think?

