Celebrate me home

November  30th, 2012

Today, I did something I never thought I’d do. I heard the first Christmas song of the season… and I cried.

Not a Hallmark-card-just-a-glisten-of-a-tear in your eye. No. This was a  shoulder rocking,a streaming down the cheeks, full out sob.

Even worse, the culprit was a Kenny Loggins song. I know, I KNOW, even I’m saying, “What?! KATE!”

Honestly, it was the end of a long day, a tough commute, and too much introspection. Plus, the lyrics made me think about Mom and future Christmases. Those moments that I know will come.

So. I cry. Even if I can’t be footloose and fancy free (please I had to throw in that one), I can let the moment be.

Plus, laugh that a woman looses it over lines like “let’s turn on the love light in the place” … has become me.

December 24th, 2012

I look back at this, smiling, feeling that feeling. I don’t want to be sad at Christmastime, but nor do I want to be a person who just doesn’t feel, or masks the emotion. I didn’t know that today would bring these hard moments too- but it does.

Therefore, maybe during this holiday season, we can remember to love others, especially those who might be more sad then glad this time of year.

For us all, I wish for light come into our lives, laughter into our homes, and love into our souls.

Merry Christmas.

One response

  1. Reblogged this on Say Yes! Change Things. and commented:

    Still so true.

    Tonight, we shared Christmas Eve with our good friend and her family. It was kind and casual, warm and inviting. The food was delicious and the company even better.

    Yes, this Christmas may very well be one of the toughest as we still very acutely miss and mourn Dad.

    So, we say thanks for the blessings, ask for help with the sorrow, and share love wherever we can, especially those in most need.

    Amen.

What do YOU think?

