Renewal

Last night, I was back on stage.

*Cue the lights*

My winter improv class had ‘our show’, which was an opening for a larger group. I felt it was good- and will save you from my inner dialogue about specifics. But one of my favorite things about improv is the fusions found afterwards. Be it sitting at a bar just after, or messaging each other a day later.

Today’s post-improv high discussion was with my friend Jen. We were talking about the gratitude we had for others, especially our teachers. Jen then said:

I need to get pushed, hard, beyond the point where I have a chance to think.

So wise. In improv, we constantly discuss ‘getting out of our heads’- to just DO, not think/ponder/chew on/ then DO. This takes trust, risk, & acceptance. And, it’s worth it.

***

I’m going for a tonsillectomy later this week. Yup, I’m nervous. Again, I will save you the inner dialogue, but there are so many thoughts whirling about. And then I hear:

I need to get pushed, hard, beyond the point where I have a chance to think.

This tonsillectomy will do that. I will HAVE to rely on others when it is tough for me. Just like improv needs multiple players, with a give and take, so does life. When I’m down & out after the procedure, I won’t be able to think about needing to take help.

I need to get pushed, hard, beyond the point where I have a chance to think.

Jen’s line is about renewal. Its a chance to stop, to slow down, to try again, to get back on the horse.

And that’s the great thing about life. Just when we think we have hit the plateau, as long as we are open to it, we will discover ways to renew ourselves.

Push on, friends.

2 responses

  1. Sometimes wisdom is not created by the person who opened their mouth, but rather by the person who called attention to the words. Hope all went well today.

What do YOU think?

