Alz: 0, Us: 3 (& more)

Today my sister, my cousin and I ran a 5k to benefit the Cure Alzheimer’s Fund. All our proceeds went to research for this disease which is the only one in the top 10 major causes of death that is increasing. It is also the only illness without a way to prevent, cure, or slow progression. Hence, the importance of the Fund.

My lucky number 260

My lucky number 260

This morning brought beautiful sunshine. We three runners separated early on to find our own paces. And our own journey.  As my cousin accurately forecasted: “It won’t be fast, it won’t be pretty…but it’ll get done”! When that last tenth of the mile challenged me, my mantra became “Mom. Mom. Mom.”

But what carried me through the previous 3.1 mile journey to honor my mother? The support from across the globe. A few days before the race, I sent out an email to friends and family. Often times loved ones say “what can I do for you or your family”, and I don’t know what to say. Feeling like this was a moment to let people know there was something to do, I wrote a little explanation as well as ideas for sharing in the day.

The response was heartwarming:

  • 11 responses in less than an hour!
  • 30 messages of support from James St to Jeddah
  • 10+ additional miles clocked by friends in solidarity
  • Countless prayers and thoughts of support

This, coupled with our dynamo cheering squad, provided such encouragement. There really aren’t words to describe the excitement (and slight bashfulness) when you see your loved ones screaming your name, clapping, and pushing you onwards. It made the race. Thank you early risers and phenomenal friends!

While getting up at the crack of dawn on a Sunday is not my cup of tea, this was more than worth it. I am so grateful I ran. This pushed me out of my comfort zone on all fronts. Practically. Interdependently. Physically.

So today Alz, you lost. Bringing in friends and family from all corners of the world, I realized that while we all have our own journey with this disease, we can find ways to unite in solidarity. And like so many of life’s challenges, “it won’t be fast, it won’t be pretty…but it’ll get done”.

Booyah, Alz. BOOYAH.

What do YOU think?

