Grounded in faith

Some moments in life make you rely on your faith, whatever that may be.

One such recent moment was learning  that my FrancisCorps Dad was entering hospice. This man is just one of the best. My heart swells when I think about him and his wife. What a beautiful, kind, and welcoming couple.

While in FrancisCorps, we each were given a “FrancisCorps Family”, a sponsor who also got to serve as mentors and supporters to us. My 4 room-mates more than once, commented on how I had the best one!

I remember multiple occasions when I called M&D, be it when everyone else was away for the wkend, and I was alone in the house; or just needed a refuge from the wonderful intensity of the service year. Every time I saw D, he’d call me “Daughter”, something that was so sweet when you are away from family. M also helped me with my resume and think about what career path I wanted to take. On the Fourth of July, I went with them to their small hometown upstate for a parade and family picnic, just like “one of the family”.

While D and I have at times exchanged emails over the years, it has been a good while now since we corresponded. After receiving word of his condition, the last stages of cancer that he had fought off since before I met him 7 years ago, I picked up the phone to get the word out.

There is no missing the irony here that an incredible man may be called home during the Easter season. He truly is one of the best. Nor does it escape my mind of the parallels going on with my own father. I spoke so highly of D to my Dad and vice versa. There were so many similarities, which is probably part of the reason that I loved spending time with him: he was so much like my own Dad. I know these two men would have been good friends if distance was not the obstacle.

For the past few Easter’s, I have reflected on Resurrection and what it means to me. Yet, again, I am not sure where in my life I need reviving. Maybe it is a movement from seeing death as the end, to part of a beginning. Maybe it is just accepting, despite all the terrible sadness in the current situations, that I have the power to do this- reflect on the amazing moments and witness grace. Maybe it’s stepping fearlessly into the future, even less sure than ever what it holds.

Regardless, I go forth with the memories I have of these great men, and am reminded how lucky I am for knowing them.

 

May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.

What do YOU think?

