My writing process

Thanks to my friend, Ellen, I am participating in my first blog hop! This post acts as an interview, a place for me to explore my process. Plus, I am going to introduce you to 3 other amazing writers!

  1. What am I working on?
  2. How does it differ from others in my genre?
  3. Why do I write what I do?
  4. How does my writing process work?

Alrighty, here we go!

What am I working on?

Currently, it alternates between a personal project and absolutely nothing. Honestly, it is probably more of the latter these days as any of you readers still loyally with me in the blogspehere have noticed! Between completing my first year in graduate school and joining the senior staff at our Journal, I think I have relished in the opportunity to reflect in other ways (*ahem* maybe some foreshadowing to question #3!)

How does it differ from others in my genre?

Oh, my nothing very much differs from other’s nothing ;). Well, one aspect that has been liberating in my process has been a lack of a time frame. Something that is so unnatural for me….my to-do lists *may* include a rough schedule as to when they shall be done in a day’s time. However, working on a personal piece also allows me to write for me, not seeking approval for publication.

Perhaps now might be the best time to define “my writing”. It’s a collection of missives, woven by storytelling, spiritual reflection, and connection to other aspects of life. Sometimes it reads as self-help, other times humor, but it is always from the heart.

Why do I write what I do?

Solely to process. That’s my total and ultimate motivation.

How does my writing process work?

Well, its probably the first, most long lasting contrast to the rest of my life- it is undisciplined, selfish, and occurs because not one more fiber of my being can have it contained. I love writing, I love this blog and this creative place, whether or not words flow my hands and onto the screen.

 

So there you have it, small missives on my process! Now, I’d love you to read about these wonderful ladies:.

Mary: We met during our years of service in the lovely ‘Cuse, while living across town from each other. While we may have been in ‘competing’ programs some would say, we continue to keep in touch. I think you will love Mary’s style of honest, soul-bearing writing as much as I do.

Alli: My dear friend, food blogger and gifted writer. She has appeared here before and most certainly will again. She is a damn good cook, but also a damn good social advocate, who strongly believes that  every single person can (and should) use their votes, voices and consumer dollars to bring about real change in the way food is produced and distributed.

Talley: This gal  is studying for her Master’s in urban planning. When she’s not in class or stuck in the library studying, she enjoys writing and photographing about the places and people she sees. Her blog Rainy Days Aren’t Always Bad, shares her photographs and musings . Her hope is that her words and images will provide another perspective on how to view ones surroundings.

 

One response

What do YOU think?

