What I wish

I wish that I saved every card. Birthdays, Christmas, Valentine’s Day, St. Patricks Day, Easter and on and on. I wish  I could keep every piece penned, as their handwriting is as unique as they are.

I wish I could bottle their laughter, their love and quips. I wish I had recorded these precious moments of day to day living.

I wish I had each memory of every hug and kiss, every gleam in their eyes, every moment that I made them proud.

But I don’t.

What I do have is one vibrant, perpetual reel of our lives. It includes pivotal celebrations where photos were taken in front of ‘my’ magnolia tree and random snipets that occurred at our kitchen table. Events big and small circle round this carousel, loading moments into memory and releasing memories into this moment.

While it is not every greeting card or comical punch line, it is their love present all the same. And with that, what more could I wish for?

What do YOU think?

