Welcome the other

“…even as we extend, welcome, we often deeply fear of the other. This idea of how do assimilate, and assimilate difference, I think this is still the essential question of American culture and we struggle with this today”. – Prof. Nancy Schultz, Salem State University
While listening to a podcast I love, Backstory, I heard this very poignant statement. Later, I went to hear Nicolas Kristof speak and he mentioned the concept of the ’empathy gap’. This idea that we struggle putting ourselves in other people’s shoes and may instead judge them harshly.
I don’t have all the answers, but I sit with these thoughts today. I’d rather welcome then shut-out. I’d rather love then hate. I’d rather find any area of space then say the inn is full.
To listen to the episode called, Catholics in America visit http://backstoryradio.org/shows/catholics-in-america/ .
What do YOU think?

